Monday, July 22, 2013

The Winners Are...


Pamela Tracy here.  We've been talking lately about contests, winners, and the books.  I wasn't able to attend the Romance Writers of America conference this year.  A birthday and psuedo-family reunion filled the time instead. 

But, I paid attention to this contest.

Young Adult Romance: The Farm by Emily McKay  ( I read this one!  It reminded me of The Hungar Games and I enjoyed it.  I've lent it out and don't remember to who!)
Best First Book: The Haunting of Maddy Clare by Simone St. James (When the finalists were announced, this one intrigued me, and I purchased it via Kindle.  Then, I purchased her other - I think there's only one other.  She writes in the vein of Susanna Kearsley and Barbara Michaels... favorites of mine)

Contemporary Single Title Romance: The Way Back Home by Barbara Freethy

Historical Romance: A Rogue by Any Other Name by Sarah MacLean

Inspirational Romance: Against the Tide by Elizabeth Camden (I'll have to read this one.  Of the finalists, I'd read Missy's and The Wedding Dress)

Long Contemporary Series Romance: A Gift for All Seasons by Karen Templeton

Novel with Strong Romantic Elements: The Haunting of Maddy Clare by Simone St. James

Paranormal Romance: Shadow's Claim by Kresley Cole

Romance Novella: Seduced by a Pirate by Eloisa James

Romantic Suspense: Scorched by Laura Griffin

Short Contemporary Series Romance: A Night of No Return by Sarah Morgan

What about you?  Have you read any... or have the winners made you think, "Ah, I need to pick this one up."

6 comments:

Lyn Cote said...

Bravo for the winners! Missy will always be a winner to us!

Pamela Tracy said...

You are so right, Lyn.

Merrillee said...

I've read The Wedding Dress, A House Full of Hope, Betrayal, and The Welcoming Committee of Butternut Creek. I received A Rogue by Any Other Name as a freebie at the conference. I'm reading it now.

Pamela Tracy said...

Tell me about the Welcoming Committee of Butternut Creek? I'm not sure I know much about it.

Missy Tippens said...

I bought the inspy finalists but haven't read them all yet. I usually buy some of the YA finalists and always the winner as well. I look forward to some good reading!

Missy Tippens said...

Thank you, Lyn! I feel like a winner just being nominated.